Joaquín Rodríguez Kierce

A blog about productivity, meaning and making things happen.

How to call someone’s bullshit

The easiest way to call someone’s bullshit is to be attentive to certain key words they say.

It’s one thing to say “I will do X”.

It’s another thing to say “I will try to do X”.

Another very different thing is to say “let me see if I can try to do X”.

See it? “Let me see” and “try” (bullshit). There’s no way this person will ever deliver on that.

Also, people will react differently depending on how you follow up on them.

Ask someone you know hasn’t delivered on a promise the question “have you done it?” and see how they become uncomfortable, even aggressive.

On the other hand, ask them “have you been able to do it?” and notice how a stream of excuses and validating language (bullshit) flow freely out of their mouth. It’s very comfortable to have someone give us the ability to play the victim. Poor me, I tried by all means but the circumstances just wouldn’t allow me, you know? (bullshit)

Yes, I’m the kind of weirdo who will pay attention to these things…But don’t let that distract you from the message here: watch your language. It reveals your true intentions.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

